• strict warning: Non-static method view::load() should not be called statically in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 906.
  • strict warning: Declaration of date_handler_field_multiple::pre_render() should be compatible with content_handler_field_multiple::pre_render($values) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/date/date/date_handler_field_multiple.inc on line 185.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_validate() should be compatible with views_handler::options_validate($form, &$form_state) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter::options_submit() should be compatible with views_handler::options_submit($form, &$form_state) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter.inc on line 607.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_handler_filter_boolean_operator::value_validate() should be compatible with views_handler_filter::value_validate($form, &$form_state) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/handlers/views_handler_filter_boolean_operator.inc on line 159.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_style_default::options() should be compatible with views_object::options() in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_style_default.inc on line 24.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_validate() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_validate(&$form, &$form_state) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 134.
  • strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_row::options_submit() should be compatible with views_plugin::options_submit(&$form, &$form_state) in /data/clients/jenna/sites/all/modules/views/plugins/views_plugin_row.inc on line 134.

Reviews

Jan 20 21:02

Moon at Nine

author: 
Ellis, Deborah

reviewdate: 
Jan 20 2015
isn: 
9781927485576
Jan 19 22:41

Cup of Water Under My Bed, a

author: 
Hernández, Daisy

Hernández recounts childhood, coming-of-age, coming out, and coming to terms with her family. Like other child-of-immigrants stories, this one is about a child set up to leave her family behind.

reviewdate: 
Jan 18 2015
isn: 
978-0-8070-1448-6
Jan 17 13:55

Young Elites, the

author: 
Lu, Marie

reviewdate: 
Jan 16 2015
isn: 
9780698171725
Jan 17 13:41

In the Age of Love and Chocolate

author: 
Zevin, Gabrielle

When you love the first book of a trilogy, but by the last you're meh.

Quotations: 

(Aside: How much of this book--nay, my life--have I spent "trying not to cry"? When I think of the wasted effort!)

reviewdate: 
Jan 12 2015
isn: 
978-0-374-38075-5
Jan 17 13:18

Far From You

author: 
Sharpe, Tess

When we meet Sophie Winters she's in rehab against her will and has survived a life-threatening car accident, addiction to painkillers related to the life-threatening car accident, and the murder of her best friend.

reviewdate: 
Jan 15 2014
isn: 
978-142318462-1
Jan 11 16:31

Station Eleven

author: 
Mandel, Emily St. John

It took me a little while to get into this post-pandemic novel, but once I was in it, I was uncomfortably in the lonely world where only .6% of the population survives a flu outbreak. I'm still not getting a flu shot, btw.

reviewdate: 
Jan 8 2015
isn: 
978-0-385-35331-1
Jan 11 15:30

Accordions, Animals, & Anarchy: A to Z in Words & Pictures

author: 
rasmussen, debbie

My sweet friend debbie's NaNoWriMo project was to finish projects like this wonderful abecedary zine. She draws animals to illustrate some of her favorite things.

reviewdate: 
Jan 4 2015
Jan 04 20:52

Mockingjay

author: 
Collins, Suzanne

This is my second time through the Hunger Games series. I don't think I cared last time, but this time, I've concluded that I'm #TeamPeeta.

Quotations: 

In the hospital, I find my mother, the only one I trust to care for them. It takes her a minute to place the three, given their current condition, but already she wears a look of consternation. And I know it's not a result of seeing abused bodies, because they were daily fair in District 12, but the realization that this sort of thing goes on in 13 as well.

reviewdate: 
Jan 4 2015
isn: 
978-0-545-78829-8
Jan 03 13:00

Beyond Belief: The Secret Lives of Women in Extreme Religions

author: 
Tive, Susan
Ostman, Cami

I'm interested in the topic and would probably read a full-length work on most of the authors' lives in extreme religions, but the short essay doesn't work. The cover is pretty, and a lot of the writing is good. And there are some good quotes. I like how Naomi J. Williams characterizes her parents' disgust with "church-hoppers," as "ecclesiastically promiscuous."

reviewdate: 
Jan 1 2015
isn: 
978-158005-442-3
Dec 27 2013

All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion, the

author: 
Flagg, Fannie

Fannie Flagg novels always go down easy and are southern charming as all get-out. All-Girl centers on a 60-year-old woman who finds out she's not southern, at least not in the southern way of knowing who your people are a few generations back. It's also about Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPs). Unless you're a real crankypants, you should be moved by protagonist Sookie Poole's evolution, the WASPs accomplishments, or both. I sniffled quite a bit reading about the titular event while riding a New Jersey transit train home from Jewish Christmas.

reviewdate: 
Dec 25 2013
isn: 
978-0-8129-9463-6
Dec 26 2013

Teatime for the Firefly

author: 
Patel, Shona

The publisher is Harlequin MIRA, but it didn't occur to me when I originally read a review of this book that it was a romance. I'm still not sure if that was the intent, because, finding the protagonist and her love interest annoying, I put the book down 200 or so pages in. The MIRA imprint is meant to encompass literary and genres aside from romance, for women.

reviewdate: 
Dec 23 2013
isn: 
978-0-7783-1547-6
Dec 22 2013

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen

author: 
Knisley, Lucy

I'm not much of a foodie, but I do love graphic memoirs, so I was happy to receive Knisley's book from my homie C-Dog as a solstice (or whatever) gift. I found myself envying how Knisley's love of food and cooking shored up her relationships with parents and friends. As you may know, I also have a soft spot for anything period related, so I loved this passage:

A woman's body craved protein and iron.

< copyrighted image I can't reproduce >

I grew into my mother's cravings - the demands of my inherited body chemistry.

< copyrighted image where Lucy says, "Once a month I need spinach." and "Like a were-rabbit." >

reviewdate: 
Dec 21 2013
isn: 
978-1-59643-623-7
Dec 22 2013

Behind the Mountains

author: 
Danticat, Edwidge

Danticat tells a story similar to her own, but set about twenty years later and with plenty of other elements to differentiate it from a fictionalized memoir, about a Haitian girl, Celiane, moving to the US and reuniting her family.

reviewdate: 
Dec 19 2013
isn: 
0-439-37299-2
Dec 22 2013

Bone Season

author: 
Shannon, Samantha

In an alternate history clairvoyance is unnatural and a crime. Clairvoyants have to hide their power or risk being consigned to The Tower. It turns out there's something even worse than The Tower, an alternate government in Oxford, run by Rephaim, which Wikipedia and other sources define as giant spirits from the netherworld.

reviewdate: 
Dec 17 2013
isn: 
978-1-62040-140-8
Dec 15 2013

Early Decision: Based on a True Frenzy

author: 
Crawford, Lacy

She was already the daughter of a celebrity; an alumni connection could help only so much more. Why on earth hire an independent consultant, too? But then, there were Anne's clients: the parents who left nothing to chance. They refused to play with a deck that wasn't stacked. They'd raise a child unvaccinated before they'd consider letting him apply to college unaided.

Anne helps privileged (and one unprivileged) students get into college, mostly by working with them on their applications essays, but also a little bit by handling their families.

reviewdate: 
Dec 11 2013
isn: 
978-0-06-224061-3
Dec 08 2013

Dark Currents

author: 
Carey, Jacqueline

Carey's new paranormal series has a wide variety of magical creatures, including mermaids, norns (?) and your run-of-the-mill vampires and werewolves. The protagonist is a halfie, herself, a hell-spawn doing her best to not invoke her birthright and thereby destroying the world. She's also a file clerk at the local PD, doing supernatural detective work on the QT.

reviewdate: 
Dec 6 2013
isn: 
978-0-451-46478-1
Dec 01 2013

Unbearable Lightness: a Story of Loss and Gain

author: 
de Rossi, Portia

If you want to know what it's like inside an eating disorder, this is your chance. It's hardcore, but reading it, you understand how it happens. At least I could see it.

De Rossi (not remotely her real/given name) is a serious overachiever from childhood, the kind of kid who goes undefeated in classroom times tables challenges for years because she's drilled them so hard, even though she's not especially adept at math.

Quotations: 

Also, I was scared of lesbians. In fact, I would cross the street if I saw one coming toward me. One time I didn't cross the street and I ended up sleeping with a lesbian because I felt sorry for her.

reviewdate: 
Nov 30 2013
isn: 
978-1-4391-7778-5
Dec 01 2013

If You Could Be Mine

author: 
Farizan, Sara

Did you know it's easier to be transsexual in Iran than homosexual? According to the novel and Wikipedia, the only country in the world that does more sex reassigngment surgeries than Iran is Thailand, and many of the surgeries are subsidized by the government. Being born the wrong gender is an ailment, being queer is a sinful aberration. So that's what our heroine Sahar is dealing with as her best friend, who she has wanted to marry since the girls were six years old, gets engaged to a dude.

reviewdate: 
Nov 28 2013
isn: 
978-1-61620-251-4
Dec 01 2013

Night's Edge: Dancers in the Dark, Her Best Enemy, Someone Else's Shadow

author: 
Harris, Charlaine
Shayne, Maggie
Hambly, Barbara

I plugged the word "dance" into a search of ebooks available for checkout from NYPL, and this was the first result. Charlaine Harris's story, about a survivor of a brutal sexual assault trying to distance herself from her past is readable (as in fuckable). It's set in the same universe, or at least with the same rules about vampires as the Sookie Stackhouse novels. The protagonist is similar to Sookie, personality-wise, but doesn't have her mind-reading ability. Her vampire dance partner is a still-waters-run-deep Irishman.

Quotations: 

Special thanks got to Doris Ann Norris, reference librarian to the stars, who can look up the inner dimensions of a sarcophagus faster than I can whistle "Dixie." (Charlaine Harris)

reviewdate: 
Nov 27 2013
isn: 
978-1-4603-0265-1
Dec 01 2013

Not My Small Diary #17

author: 
Green, Delaine Derry

Cartoonists who are not Delaine depict their miserable high school years that were miserable. There's angst about popularity, getting beaten up, horrible teachers, bad hair, and more than I expected about boys' libidos. I mean, as a woman, I understand from pop culture that adolescent boys are sex-obsessed, but I didn't fully grasp that the arty nerdy guys are just as strung out as meathead future frat boys.

reviewdate: 
Nov 25 2013
CSV